August 2, 2007

My summer volleyball league ended last night. Our team did not finish in last place, but our win-loss record wasn't pretty. Nevertheless, it was fun. We got some younger folks involved, met some cool teams, but most importantly, I was able to attempt my patented move, the Tornado, when we played.

Since I probably rate just about average on the basic volleyball skill set (serve, bump, set), I decided I would have fun and make the ordinary play into a spectacular play (aka the Marvin Bernard special). So instead of spikes, I would go for the Tornado, which is a 360 spike. This is a high skill move and should only be attempted by professionals. Even during practice, the timing to even make contact with the ball after spinning was difficult. Most of the time during games, I would chicken out and end up only doing a reverse or a 180 hit. The only time I attempted the full 360 was during our intra-squad game, where I completed the 360 but only managed to tap the ball over the net. (Unfortunately, this play was not caught on the game film as the camera crew was experiencing some technical difficulties.) We still scored a point on the play because the other team was shocked and awed by the move.

My other secret move, the misdirection kick serve was deemed illegal by the rules of volleyball.

Baseball rule question: Dan and I have been trying to figure this one out.
Rule 7.08
Any runner is out when --
(f) He is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runner may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance. EXCEPTION: If a runner is touching his base when touched by an Infield Fly, he is not out, although the batter is out;
Rule 7.08(f) Comment: If two runners are touched by the same fair ball, only the first one is out because the ball is instantly dead.
If runner is touched by an Infield Fly when he is not touching his base, both runner and batter are out.

What happens when a runner gets hit by a batted ball (not an Infield Fly) in fair territory while standing on a base (let's say 2nd or 3rd)?
Assume that the runner is not obstructing any fielder or doing anything else that he could be called out for. Is he just out for getting hit by a ball in play, regardless of being on a base? Is he safe because he can't be put out while on a base? Anybody know?

8 comments:

runnerrunner said...

http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m0FCI/is_8_65/ai_n16753007

ed montague said...

he's safe!

bruce froemming said...

he's safe!

tim mcclelland said...

he's safe!

Bob Davidson said...

BALK!!!

joey crawford said...

you wanna fight? you wanna fight!!??

tim donaghy said...

bet on the over on the points for the new york liberty vs houston comets game tomorrow night.

Allan said...

Thanks for the ribbon. Now I have something to put in my cubicle.